Advice for someone struggling to progress?

Hi!

I’ve been enjoying WaniKani so far since starting about six months ago.

BUT, I’ve been stuck on level 8 for aaaages. I’ve been wanting to clear the reviews before I take on more lessons. And I read somewhere early on that it’s wise not to have more than 100 in ‘apprentice’ otherwise the review numbers are unmanageable. I’ve been chipping away all month, and I find now that many older ones are shifting into burned and enlightened, which makes for heaps of reviews!

Am I just lazy? Do I need to spend more time? I find I get grumpy and confused if I do the reviews for more than about 20-30 minutes and then I get more wrong. Usually, I do two lots of WaniKani, one in the morning when I get to work for 20 mins or so, then again at night after tea for about the same time.

I’ve got a baby and a full-time job. Plus, I don’t really want to sit here for hours doing my Japanese every day.

Maybe that is what I need to do?

Advice appreciated!

FG

8 Likes

Hello hello, welcome! I like your avatar. :robot:

If your Apprentice numbers remain high, it could mean that it’s taking new words some time to cement. I always found that I retained new items better if I hit the first few review points as closely as I could.

For new items, I made sure to always hit the +4 hour review point, and the +8 hour one after that. I would do lessons at 7 in the morning, hit that important first review moment around noon, and then go over them again during evening reviews at 20:00. Would an extra moment to review fit in your day? If not actual WK reviews, maybe glancing through the items you learned that day could help retain them a bit better.

I’m sure other people will have plenty of good advice to share, and I hope you’ll find a comfortable learning routine that gets you progress without being too strenuous.

Best of luck!

3 Likes