Advice For Learning Vocab

So I’ve noticed something since I started learning Japanese. Hiragana only words that I learn are much easier to remember when I come across them while I’m listening or trying to recall. I figured this probably has to do with me only focusing on how the word is said and then “converting” it to English. But, with kanji vocab I’m using the kanji meanings to recall the meaning of the word, and then get the reading based on the kanji. So instead of me using the actual reading to get the meaning of the word, I’m going from the English translation of the kanji to find the meaning.

I also have a deck that makes it so I have to convert the word from English to Japanese - however, I still notice that when I come across a word I know pretty well, I still miss it while I’m listening -
Here’s an example: 点ける - I’ve seen this word in hiragana (and I’ve seen this word plenty of times in reviews, etc), but I always draw a blank and can’t recall any of its meanings because I don’t have the 点 there to help me.

I’m wondering what people think I should do based on what your experiences, or if this is just natural (which I’m assuming it is). I was considering creating a deck where I learn new vocab and convert it to just hiragana, and I would learn the word with kanji later on down the road. Thoughts on this? Bad idea? Waste of time? What do you think?

Anyways, thanks in advance. Once again I assume this is probably something everyone goes through and it just takes a lot of time, but I figure since I have a lot of time on my hands maybe there’s something else I could do to help gain familiarity with words I already know, or with new words coming in the future.

2 Likes