Advice for learning onomatopoeias?

I know posts about kana vocab are flooding the forums, but I thought I’d take a different angle.

Tofugu has a pretty good article about onomatopoeias. But the Japanese language became what it is because its speakers have a whole different conception of the kiki/bouba effect than I. I can’t imagine パサパサ sounding like dry hair, ボロボロ sounding like a dilapidated object, バラバラ sounding like scattering, or JoJo villains constantly muttering ゴゴゴゴゴゴゴ⋯⋯.

Thus far, my own solution has been adding these words to my mining deck, with an example phrase as a hint.

Obviously, output practice is a good option as well, when one can. But many are so specific that it can become difficult to find just the right time to drop that word into a sentence.

Any other techniques that you’ve tried?

2 Likes

This is one thing I’ve actually developed some opinions on. I’ve been learning onomatopoeia since like 6 years ago and SRSed probably several hundreds, but they’ve gotten special focus the last year or two because I realized the sheer difference in usage levels between learners and natives.

So, my opinion is twofold.

I couldn’t either at first, and…well…now that’s exactly what they sound like to me. In this sense I don’t think onomatopoeias are special from an acquisition standpoint necessarily. Just like the word ねこ will eventually just directly evoke an image of a cat, パサパサ will also evoke some image related to being dried out. So, I think mining these words is fine and will definitely get you to a state of knowing them when you see them.

Now, going a bit deeper, I think there is specific ways you need to mine them, especially if you want to be using them yourself naturally when you speak: