Absolute Beginner - Reading v Meaning

Hi!

Just reading the Guide to WaniKani and came across the Meaning v Reading section. For ‘Substitute’ they provide the Kanji for the Meaning and then the Reading it highlights ‘Dye’ in a sentence with the Hiragana(I think)

Is the reading how you sound out the pronunciation of the Kanji? And in this example is ‘Dye’ the sound of the Hiragana provided?

Many thanks

Mark

Well it is, but incidentally. The highlighted keywords used in the mnemonics are generally just used to help you remember the reading. They aren’t intended to be (and very often won’t be) accurate pronunciations.

Have you learned all your hiragana yet? I recommend making sure you know how to read them, as well as how they sound, before starting to learn kanji.

5 Likes

Hi Sean

Thanks very much for the quick reply!

I’m a little confused. The reading is just another word to help assist remember the original word (but the reading help word is spelt in Hiragana?)

On the guide it starts the Reading is the Pronunciation of the Kanji/Vocabulary word

I’m going to use the Tofugu detailed guide and hence will learn all Hiragana before starting WaniKani but was just reading through the Guide and this part confused me

Thanks for your help!!

Mark

1 Like

The reading mnemonic is just an English word that coincidentally sounds like the Japanese reading. It’s there to help you remember the reading.

If they just say “remember that the reading is dai” then… Well… You might remember that, but it has no context to you as a beginner. It’s just a sound. But “dye” is a word you know and can more easily remember, and that helps you get to the reading of dai, when you try to recall it.

But the reading mnemonic usually isn’t related to the meaning.

2 Likes

Ah ok so the reading is an English word sounding equivalent to the Japenese reading (pronunciation of the Kanji) that helps when trying to remember how to say it

E.g Dye in English sounds like Substitute in Kanji?