A Beginner and his questions

Dear all,

As a complete and absolute beginner regarding the Japanese language, I would like to ask you some questions. First, some background: I have absolutely no experience with the Japanese languague (other than from a great holiday in Japan this year). I have taught myself to read hiragana (almost) with the help of Tofugu and mnemonics, which have proven to be pretty useful and drastically improving learning speeds.

I am wondering what would be a good time to start working on learning kanji, and eventually (I guess) grammar? It makes sense to me that katakana is not essential for this, but I would love to hear some views on this.

In addition, I would be very interested to hear some tips from people who have been at this for quite a while (‘if I would have known this as an absolute beginner…’).

Best,
Peter

Learning Hiragana/Katakana words

Katakana is not essential at all for wanikani- there’s a handful of words that require a few, easy enough to pick up what is needed.

Also, while you do need a solid Hiragana base to use wanikani, any weaknesses you still have in Hiragana will be ironed out thanks to the constant Hiragana exposure.

Kanji is best learned whenever you want to stop being confused by the weird squiggles, which means ASAP. It’ll help with reading and just understanding the language in general.

Grammar is also a good idea to start early, but you don’t need to learn everything right away. The key thing is to understand Japanese sentence structure (subjects, objects, verbs, particles, adverbs, etc), because then you can start attempting to read sentences, which will help you with wanikani and reading on your own. I’d start working on grammar as soon as you feel solid about wanikani, which for me was level 7 or so, and then, once you have basic grammar down, start attempting to read sentences.

Welcome! From one Japanese learner to another, you picked an amazing language to learn! :smile: