五十音 order (kana chart)

So I’m working on a CSS project to provide some alternate (dark theme) styling to the standard WK pages.

Testing involves clicking all the things I’ve never even looked at in the UI. One of which was the “kana chart” on review and lesson pages. I can see how this feature would be helpful for absolute beginners, but I was typing Japanese before Unicode, much less Wanikani.

Surprise #1

The markup appears to be different on lesson pages than on review pages. (Just a weird technical thing that caught me by surprise.)

Bigger surprise #2

The kana chart has the top row in this order:

あ か さ た な ま ら 雑多(ざった)

Wha?!

は before な?! And what is that く supposed to do (doesn’t appear to be clickable to me).

Why isn’t this in the normal 五十音(ごじゅおん) order (あかさたなはまやらわん)?

I can see throwing やわん and other miscellaneous things under 雑多(ざった) but this order mystified me.

I’m curious if anyone knows why.

2 Likes

That’s most likely a mistake, I assume not many actually open this.

As for the く

Maybe because of some plugin the backspace shows up as く?

Ah, I’m on a lesson page, might be different on the review page

Edit 2: I checked, that’s not a く that’s a backwards arrow, or to be exact, a chevron left

Yes, seems to be this. I just disabled all scripts and stylesheets and still see the く on the reviews page.

There are hints that the lessons pages have a newer (non “legacy”) version of the kana chart that haven’t been replicated on the review pages yet.

So I think you’re right: probably just bugs. Still surprising, though.

Ah! Lol. Old eyes catch me out again.

It’s this symbol. Kind of a weird choice, as you would at least expect a full arrow, or an arrow with a vertical line to mean “backspace”, but no

1 Like

Many better choices, including standard unicode entities:

2 Likes

That’s also a fontawesome character, but tbh, the “Backspace” from the lesson view might be one of the better fitting options.