ふたつ Pronunciation

Dear all,

I’m a beginner and I have encountered my first struggle with the pronunciation.For example with 二つ. It sounds very much like statsu and not futatsu.

I keep listening to the audio pronunciation and it is really different from what I’m expecting and this makes it more difficult to remember the mnemonic the website suggests ( foot). Does anyone know why?

5 Likes

I hear it loud and clear. Maybe not used to the sound, will probably get better with time with practice and immersion. You’ll be alright.

7 Likes

Although I think we expect Japanese syllables to be enunciated equally, they often aren’t. You’ll probably be able to hear a similar thing with ひとつ as well. I definitely here an “f” sound rather than an “s”, but not a distinct “fu” sound.

6 Likes

Yeah, there was a similar thread last year about hitotsu - perhaps some of the resources linked there might help you.

7 Likes

The sound is a voiceless bilabial fricative, which a bit like what we know as “f” but much more like a sigh. The “f” sound is known as a labio-dental, so lips and teeth and you notice you press you lips to your teeth. The bilabial we’re going for in ‘fu’, us nerds write it /ɸ/, has no teeth. It’s a bit like blowing out a candle. The sound is not used in English so it might be hard to hear. Listen to it on Wikipedia.
Depending on what your mother tongue is, a “t” at the beginning of a word can sometimes sound like “st” so (ɸu)statsu. If you hear it often enough, you will hear the /ɸ/ quiet clearly. Depending on the Japanese accent, it will also be more pronounced than in the example. Furthermore, the initial “s” that you hear is just an artifact of how some people segment sounds in their head, contingent on their L1. It will get better, I promise :slight_smile:

Related.

16 Likes
Off-topic English pronunciation advice?