Question regarding vocabulary "One Thing"

I am just starting to learn vocabulary.

I just got to my first vocabulary, One Thing.

I am a little confused as to why when I play the pronunciation, I only hear “stotsu.” I don’t hear “hitotsu.”

Thank you!

2 Likes

They’re saying ひとつ

The hi is devoiced because of how…well… devoicing works in Japanese. I don’t know what else to say other than you have to learn what sounds are what, so it’s best to just know that’s what ひ will sound like when devoiced.

9 Likes

Is it devoiced though? I hear the ひ clear as day.

2 Likes

Yes it is, as it should be. Devoicing at the start of a word/sentence like this is generally less drastic than in the middle so it might feel harder to hear for you? But I’m sure if you heard an unvoiced one side by side the difference would become a lot more apparent.

4 Likes

“I hear the sound clearly as ‘this syllable’ even though its specific sound instantiation in this environment isn’t the way it shows up in other contexts” is what you should expect when your brain has got used to listening in a foreign language, so congratulations :slight_smile:

10 Likes

Also this, lol. Happens a lot for entire words and phrases when you’re listening to poor enunciation. People who aren’t familiar with the language would have no hope of transcribing it but it sounds clearer to you.

3 Likes

Incidentally, in the 1879 “Exercises in the Yokohama Dialect” the counting numbers are rendered ‘stoats; stats; meats; yotes…’ so this difficulty with the devoicing for English speakers is long-standing.

(Read the rest of the booklet; it’s great.)

16 Likes

This is literally cursed.

11 Likes

Atsie sammy eel oh piggy nigh?

3 Likes

I had no idea what your comment meant until I clicked on the link

We can only hope that someone used that statement in good faith! XD

1 Like

I still don’t know what it’s supposed to be…

1 Like