Why I’m quitting WaniKani

When I started I really loved the system however over time it has become counterproductive. These are a few reasons I’ve decided to quit.

• many of the kanji I’ve learned or studied are useless. I live in Japan and have shown the kanji I’m studying to my wife, coworkers, and friends (all Japanese). Several people didn’t know the kanji in the lists or don’t use them.
  • the kanji lists aren’t organized by stroke order, frequency of use, or JLPT tests.
  • the enormous amount of time it takes to study the kanji has become detrimental. I could be studying the grammar or speaking or listening or literally anything else.
  • the last one is on me. I don’t really enjoy it anymore. Honestly, I don’t really “get it” when it comes to Japanese. It’s never clicked for me.

In fact, I only live in Japan because of my family and have no particular interest in the language. This app has made me frustrated and annoyed and made me enjoy learning Japanese far less.

After over two years I’ve only ever managed to get up to level 16 or 17 and had to reset several times due to the overwhelming number of kanji in my study queue.

7 Likes

At level 16, this seems really hard to believe.

Japanese people are fond of acting impressed at foreigners studying kanji, but if they graduated middle school they know all the kanji in the first 16 levels (and many more).

111 Likes

That’s an odd claim. I’m 6 levels below you and I’ve probably encountered well more than 90% of the kanji I’ve learned amongst graded readers, manga and NHK News Web Easy. What exactly are you reading where you don’t encounter most of the kanji or words you’ve learned so far? I don’t think I’m reading anything so esoteric where I should be encountering the kanji from WK at an abnormally high rate.

54 Likes