My first post and ...I give up

I have been using WaniKani for the last 37 months and reached level 41 so far. Currently I have a 1052 days review streak but what gives… if rather the lessons are the problem here?

With an average of 5 daily lessons I was already slow but for the last couple of months, even that was too much for me. Every single lesson, be it Kanji or vocabulary, felt like torture to me. It felt like my brain was overloaded and I couldn’t add any more data to it.

Usually I’d catch myself after a max. 2 day break from lessons, but today it’s day 4 already…
I feel so tired and I feel like I should close the WaniKani chapter in my life after more than 3 years.

On the other hand I feel like a total loser who couldn’t complete the journey even though I always looked forward to it. If I stop now, I believe I’ll never reach the level of Japanese literacy I have now and that from now on everything is going to fall apart but… I’m tired, I don’t want this anymore. It’s so painful to realize that I want to give up…

25 Likes

Just do the reviews for the time being, you’ll be fine. Since you’ve been taking it slow it’ll go down fast doing 10 here and 10 there.

6 Likes

Why not consider this your graduation from WaniKani? Should you have a solid vocab base and if you’ve been studying grammar too, you should be able to enjoy a lot of various Japanese materials. WaniKani was going to end at some point or the other. Level 60 is arbitrary.

What is your goal when it comes to studying Japanese?

16 Likes

Welcome to the forums, and thanks for being willing to share this with everyone!