What's the maximum amount of chapters I can get in 5 months

I’m leaving for Japan in March and I want to see how much kanji I’ll know before I go. Also to clarify, I am studying the grammar and vocab independently and will be taking my N4 in December. I also have a tutor helping me now. Disregarding those though and looking only at WaniKani, how many levels can I complete in 5 months?

1 Like

About twenty-two levels. That’s at absolute maximum speed though, which will almost certainly require you to do reviews at 3am at some point. Something in the seventeen-to-eighteen range is probably a more reasonable target.

Enjoy Japan, though. Send us photos. :slightly_smiling_face:

9 Likes

IIRC, max speed was like 6 days 20 hours a level or something weird. Going slightly slower lets user stay on a much more regular schedule. I think it ends up being like 7 days 12 hours or something along those lines. For a long time I went with an 8 day schedule which was really to keep my lesson at the same time of day.

Really, just read the second post in this thread to get an idea of what to expect and what (not) to do or think about with regards to leveling. Fast or slow, there’s great advice in here.

It should also be noted that level 15ish is 95% JLPT N4 coverage (sort of) according to wkstats. But with the exam in less than two months…

8 Likes

Can confirm, though this is not an issue when you have small children awake every hour at night :laughing:

10 Likes

Haha this is the first time I hear somebody say that having small children actually helps with studying Japanese :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

8 Likes

Oh but it is. Sometimes I think “wow if I had started before I had children, I would have had so much time!”, But it’s the other way around, now I don’t have time, so give me 15min and I’ll get much more done than I would have before kids in two hours :grin:

10 Likes