Words of encouragement?

Is it normal to still be on Level 4 after a month? I’ve been using WaniKani for exactly a month, to the very day, and I’m still not complete with Level 4. The introductory email I received when I joined WaniKani gave me the expectation that I would be complete with Level 5 by this time.

I’ve been studying and reviewing religiously and I’m purely self-study with zero classroom support. But I’m becoming increasingly discouraged with my speed lately :frowning: I know everyone moves at their own pace, but it’s hard not to be discouraged.

I also see many people claim they passed JLPT N5 after just a couple months. Whereas I’ve been studying Japanese religiously for about 2 months now (I already knew hiragana and katakana), and I feel like I’m nowhere close.

Anyways, I guess I’m just venting at this point. I hope I’m not alone in this though.

Anyone possibly have any additional study tips?

8 Likes

I think 4 levels a month is usually the fastest you can go. :open_mouth:
(I don’t know the specific time for each level)

Also, I studied for 5 years (although only one class a week) and passed the N4.
You shouldn’t really expect to pass the N5 after a few months, but I’m sure it’s possible.

I’m not good with self-study, having a fixed goal is a good motivation, and you can easily get that in a classroom environment, but I don’t know about your situation.

Also, it’s pretty hard to gauge your progress in relation to the JLPT, imo.

Another thing is that when you say you’ve been studying for 2 months, it doesn’t give any idea to what you’re doing or how you’re progressing, so you could either be painstakingly going through a book in order to be an expert at a few things, or going through it quickly and then practicing a lot with some other means.

I’d say, even more when you’re self-studying, it’s easy to get stuck or not notice progress you’re making.

5 Likes