What do i need for the absolute beginners book club?

I want to start paticipating in the absolute Beginners Book Club by the end of next month, so far i‘m done with Hiragana and Katakana and i‘ve already learned all the kanji and vocab up to level 3. I‘ve got the “Japanese” Dictionary app and my Genki 1 book plus textbook will arrive in about 10 days. Is there any extra vocab that I should or need to study for the absolute beginners book club?

4 Likes

What you need most is grammar knowledge. ABBC picks usually have full furigana (and/or are low-kanji to begin with), so kanji knowledge isn’t really necessary. Vocabulary you can look up in the dictionary - or the vocab lookup sheet that the club assembles. But unless you know how sentences fit together, you will not be able to read anything.

11 Likes

How long will it take for me to completely finish Genki 1? I could theoretically spend multiple hours everyday learning japanese

uhhh first of all OUCH!!!
just go into the book club and if it’s too much there are no book club police around you can always put it down and come back to it

there is a whole thing @ChristopherFritz has written but don’t know where (maybe he can link to it for you) about getting through your first japanese book, it’s gonna be painful, but once you get through one you’ll get through more.

it sounds like you might be really in over your head but it’s ok you can always come back and read the book later too. generally recommend having all N5 grammar knowledge and some N4 and you’ll be not drowning too horribly

10 Likes

You won’t need to completely finish any grammar textbook for a while as long as you start and stick with one that works for you. The book clubs will answer any question you have but most manga will not be easy to dive into at first. That’s why the clubs are here to help.

7 Likes

Here it is!

9 Likes

thanks!!! now I feel bad for tagging him :laughing:

will call it payback for not always posting takagisan on time