WaniKani's Senseless Cruelty

I’m just getting started, and I’m starting to see some vocabulary. Despite the fact that all of the kanjis I’ve learned so far are given with their on’yomi readings, the new vocab that I’m getting uses the kun’yomi readings. Is there a reason for that, beyond the general senseless cruelty of WaniKani? :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Daniel

P.S. I’m completely new to Japanese. WaniKani and Tofugu are awesome, and I am very grateful for all of the work and love that you all have put into them.

6 Likes

Think of it like English: you’ve got your basic everyday Germanic-English words like book, girl, sun - that’s your vocab/kunyomi; then you’ve got your polysyllabic Latin/Greek origin words like polysyllabic, decapitation, demographic - each of the meaningful parts of those words [poly-, de-, -cap-, -graph-] are your kanji/onyomi - they get used a lot in combination with other parts and so get used in more different words than the basic Germanic ones.

Hope that helps rather than confuses the situation!

P.S. This is a very simplistic overview - you will sometimes learn the kunyomi reading with the kanji, and some vocab will use onyomi.

13 Likes

My guess is that you learn the Onyomi for the kanji, and then you learn the kunyomi with the vocabulary so you don’t have to memorize both at the same time :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hiiii!

From what I understand, WK will try to teach you the on’yomi and then teach you the most commonly used reading. However, a lot of the words are also kanji compounds which almost always take the on’yomi reading. Japanese has multiple readings for the same kanji character. IMO, is the senseless cruelty. WK, however, will help you wth that with its mnemonics and SRS. :blush:

2 Likes

You should see both the reading you learned and different readings. Maybe the different readings are just more noticeable because you need to learn something new? :slight_smile: