Vocabulary: remembering outside WaniKani

Hello fellow WaniKani students. I encountered a little problem while studying and I would like to know If there are others who have had the same experience and how you solved it.

I am currently level 9. I am studying Kanji and Vocabulary at a steady pace and still enjoying it.

But lately I have found out that many words that I study I can answer correctly when I see the kanji but can not recall the word later without WaniKani.

I see some kanji letters and immediately know what the word means, but if you asked me five minutes before how to say this or that word in Japanese, I wouldn’t know. It happens for a lot of words the more I study. I know it’s because there is so much vocabulary, that its probably normal, but I am afraid that at higher levels it will be overwhelming.

Do you have some system that helps with this problem?

It would be great if WaniKani had some audio test options as well, where you would hear the word in English or Japanese and you would have to type the correct answer (without seeing the Kanji).

Any feedback appreciated:)

Martin

4 Likes

That’s why it’s important to immerse. Both reading and listening. Knowing the meaning of the word is half the battle, recalling it and using it is something different.

Satori Reader is golden for this. Can sync words you know (from WK), so it doesn’t show furigana for those words.

5 Likes

Because “how to say this or that word in Japanese” is English to Japanese, which is not what you practice on WaniKani. You need to try something like KaniWani.

1 Like

I started on Duolingo. It has sentences in context, so it’s like seeing the kanji “in the wild”. I started WaniKani after I was pretty far along in Duolingo. It’s really great to see those words that I know from WaniKani. I also know so many words already from Duolingo that WaniKani is more tolerable. They reinforce one another, and I’m happy with the effect.