Unsure how to continue with my journey

So I’ve got over 200 kanji down along with all the vocabulary that go with each one. I try to put aside one hour a day to study Japanese, but lately I have so many reviews and lessons that it takes up that whole hour and leaves me little time to study grammar and practice talking, so I’m unsure on how to continue. Should I level up slower (my average is around 12 days/level), which might help with the lesson and review load which will allow me to spend more time on other aspects of the language? Should I continue focusing on kanji? Should I completely pause with Kanji and focus merely on speaking and structuring sentences?

The other day I told one of my Japanese friends I had been learning the language for three months, he then started talking to me in Japanese and I could barely figure out how to introduce myself even though I have already learnt how to say and write ‘testicles’ in Japanese…

5 Likes

I don’t think you should stop focusing on Kanji, but there’s no problem with slowing down a bit. With very minimal effort, you can still keep learning Kanji & vocab at a steady pace.

Maybe do 5 or 10 lessons per day, or none if you aren’t feeling up to it. This should give you more time to focus on other things while not putting a halt to your Kanji progress. As long as you keep doing your reviews and do some lessons as you can, you’ll thank yourself later!

3 Likes