Trying to figure out how to best memorize when to use Kun'yomi / On'yomi for Wanikani's Kanji/Vocab Diferentials

Hello hello! I’m a new student who’s recently gotten to level 3, (will probably spend a bit more time as a free student here and then finally invest to wait for the proper yearly discount haha.)

I actually have a background in Chinese (American-born) so I’m technically okay-fluent in speaking, and kind of crappy at reading. I’m still recognizing a lot of characters, so a lot of the time I know the meaning, but the Chinese pronunciation is what’s popping up. So I do think this isn’t helping my confusion over kun’yomi and on’yomi…

So yeah, I’m having some trouble confusing on when to use kun’yomi and on’yomi for reviews.

For example the Single Kanji vs. Single Kanji Vocab. They both immediately appear the same and I get confused on which pronunciation(s) to use. I am also confusing whether the specific pronunciation is kun’yomi or on’yomi.

I was wondering if there was any tips or tricks to get this down? Ways to better keep the separation of the pronunciations so I don’t mistakenly use the wrong pronunciation for the wrong type of kanji/vocab?

Mnemonics on memorizing general rules like how compound words are on’yomi, kanji with hiragana are kun’yomi, etc. etc. ?

I’m happy that I seem to be making a lot more progress with Wanikani than my previous attempts at learning Japanese, but the aspect of different pronunciations was what had first stymied my attempt at learning.

(On an earlier attempt a few years back, I got hiragana and katakana down and then saw multiple readings of single characters and screamed lol. Chinese may have a Lot of characters, but generally there’s only one way to really read a character. Please don’t talk to me about city dialects though hahahaha.)