This guy says you can become fluent in Japanese in 6 months

Hello Everyone

So I started studying Japanese this year. I started with Tofugu’s guide, I learn’t Hiragana, I learnt some Katakana, and now I’m here on WaniKani learning kanji. So far I don’t know much grammar, but I’m not stressed because Tofugu’s guide says the best time to start learning grammar is at level 10 on WaniKani, then my grammar studies won’t be hampered by my lack of kanji knowledge.

But this morning I found this video: https://youtu.be/d0yGdNEWdn0

The video seems to be making some good points, but I’m curious if any of you have any experience with the methods that Chris Lonsdale is describing here? If he is correct, then I could have been fluent in Japanese buy now, because I started studying in June. However, it seems a little, too good to be true.

2 Likes

I watched that video a long time ago, I believe, but when people make these claims you always have to ask what they mean by “fluent.” It’s a term that is used very loosely, and most marketing blurbs that advertise reaching fluency prey on the fact that most people think of fluency as a very high level of proficiency, while the resource in question might just define it as being able to have daily topic conversations.

Not saying he’s doing that, but it just comes to mind when discussing this kind of thing.

21 Likes

Oh, I understand. I’m not sure how this video defines the fluency that it is referring to. But, I’m still curious to find out if there is anyone here who has had any success with the methods that this video discusses.

Rewatching it, and 2 minutes in and he says he got to “native” level in Chinese in a little more than 6 months.

I’ll try to keep my eyes from rolling out of my head for the rest of it.

43 Likes