That Motivation Drop

My motivation is currently in the pits. Please provide reasons for me (and others just like me, I’m not alone, …right?..RIGHT!!!) to like actually do this, and not cry about every.single.review.

Because I’m taking this slow and it is just like eating.my.soul. at the moment.

I’m just trying to do 10 reviews at a time and doing a few lessons a day to keep myself from stalling.

18 Likes

it happens to me a lot.
I usually deal with it by slowing down reviews and completely stopping the lessons.

spending less time in the forums may help for you’ll be less exposed to those insufferable overachievers’ complaints about being barely able to do 500+ daily reviews after having read an entire japanese newspaper, studied for college exams, dated 2/3 people… (no i’m not being envious! don’t judge!)
ok… then i try to find something amusing to remind me the reasons why i am studying japanese (in my case, anime, videogames and music)

to sum it up, I slow the pace down to catch breath and avoid a complete stop

24 Likes

If your motivation is down, why not do something that you are motivated to do, within the scope of your japanese learning? Listen to some japanese music; watch japanese drama or anime; practice listening or writing or chatting to people. There’s lots of aspects of Japanese to study outside of Wanikani, and there’s no need to force yourself if you’re not feeling it.

I find that if I do this, I run into a bunch of kanji that I have to look up, and that eventually brings me back to WaniKani, to improve my kanji recognition and reading some more.

If you DO want to force yourself, maybe just use a habit tracker to do the minimum you consider reasonable (there’s a Habitica group around, if you’re into that), and then give yourself a pat on the back for consistency.

9 Likes