That is a bit depressing

So I have bought the children’s book to join the reading group on 1 November. Have started reading it. I’ve been looking up vocab I don’t know and writing it into the book. Out of curiosity I checked for
one page to see if they are in WK (and that therefore I would eventually come across them). Only one of the five is in WK! And this is a book for 8 year old Japanese kids. I really thought that at level 60 I would have a functioning vocabulary.

2 Likes

Correction- 1 from 7!

Well, the purpose of WK is to learn how to read kanji, the vocab are more of a (nice) supplement to introduce/reinforce readings

You’ll still be taught 6000+ vocab, but there are still thousands more to learn outside of that, which is why reading is so helpful

As a level 60, yes I can read a vast majority of things I come across, but I’m still learning new words every single day ^^

28 Likes

But there are so many words in the world :joy:

It is a bit disheartening, but remember that WK is first and foremost a tool for learning kanji, and that the vocab are included as a way to help you read kanji. There are only ~6000 words in WK, so there’s plenty more to learn once you’re finished here :wink: that’s part of why we have reading groups!

There are also many common words (especially relevant to children) which are usually written in hiragana and would never appear here.

22 Likes

One more thing to mention, sometimes, especially in children’s books words can appear in hiragana/katakana even if they’re more commonly written in kanji.

5 Likes

I feel like the vocabulary taught in Wanikani is just there to help with memorizing the onyomi and kunyomi readings for the Kanji that they teach. For vocabulary acquisition I use the app iKnow!.

6 Likes

What exactly are the vocab?

2 Likes