Tell me your "Goodbye textbooks/flashcards!" stories

I’m gonna discriminate a bit here and tell the “immersion crowd” to stay out of this one.
For those that did take the time and learned from textbooks, I want to hear your stories about when you finally felt confident to make the jump and make Japanese a part of your daily life without books/flashcards/etc.

For some prompt help:
When/How did you know you were ready?
Did it happen intentionally/unintentionally?

7 Likes

Is it even possible to go from only using textbooks/flashcards, to being able to use Japanese on a daily basis, particularly speaking and listening?

My disappointment when I had been studying kanji and textbooks for 6 months, and I rocked up to my first speaking and listening lesson and was served humble pie for nearly 2 hours.

Good times… :cry:

Edit: This definitely taught me the importance of putting the textbook down and focusing on listening and speaking. When I went through the Genki I textbook I would even read all questions and answers aloud and it seems like it did nothing to prepare me.

5 Likes

I believe it is. It requires a better flashcard system that adds an immersive element to SRS. I’m actually tinkering with something like that right now. As with pure immersion though, more sources of input = more efficient acquisition.

1 Like

I’d say it all happens gradually. There is no big jump. I am 5 years in, can read easy book with no dictionnary but still do a lot of intensive reading (my favourite study method).

I am curious now.

1 Like

I originally had a large post typed out, but I backspaced it. Experiments are afoot and I’ll post back in late August if they were fruitful.

3 Likes

What does “immersion crowd” mean?

Probably referring to people who say you should primarily be learning via immersion and Japanese content from nearly the beginning of your studies.