Should I start everything over?

So I made it to about halfway through Genki 2 and level 9 on WK (I started learning kanji late because when I first started learning Japanese I just wanted to be able to speak). Now, after some consideration of some things, I want to go to a Japanese university and try studying Japanese classes in a few years. I’ve reset wanikani because I spent like a year just to get level 9 and I had already forgotten a lot of the earlier stuff, and I’m starting over with genki. The biggest reason that I’m starting over my grammar learning is because I can’t write in Japanese. My Japanese study has been all online, so I’ve never had to actually write. But with me wanting to go to Japanese university, I’m going to have to learn to write. So I figured it would be best to start over so that as I learn to write, it’ll be with the most basic sentences possible. And also looking at the latter half of Genki 1, there’s some things that I don’t even remember, and even fewer things from Genki 2 that precede the lesson that I’m on that I remember. So I’m kinda thinking I should go back and start over with grammar, and learn each thing incredibly thoroughly until it becomes natural and THEN I’ll move on to the next thing. I was kinda inconsistent with learning Japanese and very lazy with it as well, and I feel like I’m kind of paying for that now. I’ve been studying 2 years and am probably like N5 level, almost N4 level, so progress has been slow by my own choice. I know if I work hard, I’ll be able to do better.

What do you guys think of this?

2 Likes