Setting up a schedule w/ other priorities in the way

So, I’m a student learning Japanese purely in my free time. Having just started my WK journey, I read the famous Journey of 368 Days post and got to the schedule part. However, being a student means I have school, 8:30am to 3:30pm almost every day, plus half an hour in either direction for commuting.
While I do have a mostly consistent period of free time from 8:30am-10am and 12pm-2pm (I have free periods that I act as a Teacher’s Aide for) every other day, I obviously can’t consistently stick to a 9am-9pm schedule perfectly timed with the SRS intervals. Is just checking WK whenever I can and doing the best “schedule” I can get with this, or is there some secret trick?

Many thanks!

3 Likes

You will not get to 60 in 1 year unless you sacrifice your sleeep schedule even.

5 Likes

The seceduling part from my understanding is to efficiently do wanikani or reviews to minimize lost time. This is idle for people speed running™️. While for others it could be helpful still. But it is not a law neither it is requirement for the program.
I myself only do it 3 times on occasion more often than not only twice a day. What is important is being consistent.

Conclusion:
It is good idea to follow but not necessary.

6 Likes

Speed aside, hitting the intervals really only matters for idiots like me that struggle with new items early on. There are some people here who are fine just doing things once a day. Don’t stress it.

There is a secret trick in that there are some awesome 3rd party mobile apps hidden away in the forums. They’re at the bottom of the first post in this thread. So if that morning commute is on public transit you could always do mobile lessons/reviews at that time and even without internet access if your app supports it.