Sabbatical in Japan?

I know I mention this a lot, but I’m a college mathematics professor. I’d like to take a sabbatical in the next few years. Since I’ve been a student of Japanese for well over half my life, I figure that’s the best place to look. Besides, a number of incipient trends in higher education resemble the Japanese model (e.g. starting math classes by having everyone work on an intentionally difficult problem that they haven’t seen how to solve yet).

Yes I did Google, and I found the JET Program. That looks like my best bet, but since I’m 40, I’m a little worried that I’m outside of the target demographic (the FAQ says there’s no age requirement but it’s clearly a twentysomething-oriented program). I also found the Kansai Gaidai University Visiting Professor Program, but I can’t tell from the site whether I’d be eligible (plus I’m not sure I’m ready to tackle Kansai dialect!), but I intend to e-mail them anyway and ask.

I know a number of you work and/or live in Japan. I know it’s a longshot but I thought I might get lucky if I asked. Have you heard about any sabbatical programs or programs geared towards foreigners teaching in Japan on a temporary basis?

I’ve never taken the JLPT but I’d estimate that my kanji is around N2, my grammar is N3, and my listening comprehension is… an ongoing focus. :no_mouth:

I’m hoping for anything between one and nine months. At least three months would be ideal. Then I could legally open a Japanese bank account and finally access Amazon JP’s streaming library!

Thanks!

11 Likes

That sounds like an amazing plan! Especially the “visiting professor” option.

Unfortunately I can’t give you any input but maybe @Naphthalene has some thoughts and/or ideas?

2 Likes

Well, the main difficulty would be the visa. Long story short, my university has a couple of programs but it’s for Japanese people or Japanese residents (so people who do not need a visa).