Questions about Kanji that share the same reading

So I’m new to learning Japanese. Currently I’m going through a first few kanji lessons and I’ve noticed that the character 三 and 山 share the same reading of “さん” and while I can understand recognizing the difference When reading 2 completely separate kanji characters, it seems like it’s going to be confusing when having a conversation with someone? I mean, If someone says さん on it’s own, how do you really know if they mean “mountain” or “three”? Also, I have a suspicious feeling that I’m gonna later find out their are probably other words referred to as “さん”. This seems to be a trend so far as I’m learning. Previously, I used Duolingo to learn hiragana and katakana and they referred to the number 4 as よん while on my favorite anime “My Hero Academia”, the main character said “し” when counting. I’ve also read that “し” is also used for the word death. I understand that kanji will most likely have difference readings and I understand one of the readings are brought over from China and I understand there are 3 generations of kanji brought over at different times but I don’t understand why you would continue to use so many confusing readings for one word that seems it could be simplified by just using the reading that doesn’t conflict with another? Am just overthinking this? I just worry that as I learn more kanji I’ll become more confused. Kanji seems to do a good job in separating words that might have the same reading but it seems like this will be a confusing problem when speaking with someone directly?

1 Like

First of all, 山 as a word is pronounced やま. It is sometimes pronounced さん when part of a larger word, such as 富士山 (Mount Fuji).