Question about the number of apprentice items

Hi there!

I was wondering if anyone has any idea of how long would it take me to complete Wanikani with different learning paces. My plan for now is to stick with the 100-120 Apprentice items rule, but would it be too much of a difference if I choose to do 150, for example?

I have some experience learning kanji with Heisig (around 500 kanji), so I’m not exactly a newbie, but I wouldn’t say I have that much experience either.

For even more context: I’ve been studying this language for a long time with many pauses in between. I managed to pass the N3 years back, but I was literally carried by my listening score (~55/60 vs ~ 25/60 for reading and vocab, most vocab I just couldn’t read) and I’m aiming to pass N2 next year.

Any recommendation would be helpful!

2 Likes

You should get a feeling on how fast you can advance with 100-120 apprentice items pretty fast. For me, I rarely have over 120 apprentice items and am advancing every 7 days, so pretty close to the least time needed.
I do all Radicals in one batch, then go 5-7 already unlocked Kanji a day + 20 Vocab, when the 2nd batch of Kanji unlocks I do those in one batch + 20 Vocab.
This keeps me at around 120 apprentice items maximum, but I also rarely fail because I already know most items or have at least encountered them before. If you fail a lot, this won’t work anymore. :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is hard to calculate because if you limit your apprentice items, your speed will change depending on your accuracy. In my opinion, the most important thing is your motivation, rather than any set limits. I recommend starting with the rule you’re following now, and then adjust depending on how you feel. Keep in mind that the impact of changes you make now will come back several months from now, so consistency is key!

1 Like