Practicing coming up with sentences on the spot

Hey!

I’ve been studying JP for a little over 3 years now… I’ve recently started to become a little frustrated when I’m talking to a friend or teacher in Japanese where I can’t piece a sentence together. I know the words and grammar to make the sentence but it comes out really broken, which is fine because the meaning of the sentence seems to always get across! But I’d like to work on becoming better at piecing sentences together on the spot and being able to express myself more.

I’ve tried a few things like recording myself just speaking, keeping a daily vlog and diary, but I never really seem to improve all that much.

I work full time and spend maybe 1-2 hours a day doing reviews and some study, but I was wondering if any of you fine folk have any resources or ways you overcome this sort of thing?

I’d love it if there was a website or something that gives you an English sentence and you need to translate it or something like that. I’m not aware of anything like that though.

I use WaniKani, Bunpro & NativShark on a daily basis, but they’re all pretty heavy on just remembering what the saying/word is rather than forcing you to come up with your own sentence.

I could probably spend some time making my own Anki decks or something I guess, but thought I’d ask here for any tips/pointers first!

Cheers!

2 Likes

It sounds like you are actually looking to improve your applicative ability (speed of recall and ability to use it for creation), rather than your memorization.

I’m not so sure Anki would help much with this goal. I think that even if you created your own deck, you would end up feeling like it was, as you said, “pretty heave on just remembering what the saying/word is rather than forcing you to come up with your own sentence.”