Pimsleur vs JapanesePod101 vs?

Hello again everyone! I’m back again with another newbie question :slight_smile:

I’m soon to be heading back to work, and with that comes a 2 hour per day driving commute. So, I’m looking for the most efficient way to continue my studies and not lose those 10 hours each week.

For some background info, I am a beginner. My WK level perfectly reflects the amount of vocab I know. I’m a few sections into Tae Kim’s, and that’s about it. I’m too new to understand anything from easy podcasts and such, but I would very much like to reach that point so I can switch to native content and just listen to that during my drives.

Anyway! What are your opinions on Pimsleur vs JPod101? Or is there another 100% audio source you would recommend for listening, speaking, vocab, grammar, or any mixture of them?

Thanks peeps!

3 Likes

I loved pimsleur but i don’t think i would be able to do it while driving. it constantly builds on itself and your brain doesn’t really get a break. Maybe it would be ok in the beginning :thinking:

I finished through level 4 and i did learn a lot which helped me not feel so lost when i started getting more serious about learning grammar from written materials. It makes things not feel so strange and a little more intuitive. It also lets you build your vocabulary without really realizing you’re doing so.

I did lessons while doing physical tasks, like walking the dogs, or gardening, but never driving. you could always just buy the first few lessons and see how it goes, but be safe! :grin:

I don’t know much about japanesepod 101 though.

5 Likes

Thanks for the response!

It’s a pretty laid back drive, and my brain will always switch to 100% focus-on-drive mode anytime things get hairy. I’m way too cautious to let anything really distract me too much, so chances are I’ll have to do each lesson more than once anyway :sweat_smile:

3 Likes