Overwhelming GENKI Vocab! D:

I’m new to learning kanji on WaniKani and learning Japanese in general. I started slowly chipping away GENKI 1 last December, I’m on Chapter 10 right now, and I found that I could not remember all the vocab in the past chapters. I use Quizlet and recently discovered Anki. I have tried combining all the chapters into one deck, but it was super overwhelming. Then, I tried to go through each chapter one by one, but it just won’t stick! Is it because I am reviewing too much vocab at once? Please help!

4 Likes

Hi! So, Togufu, the maker of Wanikani, highly recommends that you focus on Wanikani until you at least hit level 10 before moving onto a textbook. If you do that, once you go back to the textbook, you’ll know most of the stuff already within the textbook, and can solely focus on grammar, like you want to.

10 Likes

You don’t have to take too much pressure that you should remember it all. Most of it is very basic vocab that you will encounter many times to cement it in your head. Ultimately you can’t hammer vocab and it’s usage down with a list. I’d just keep going forward in Genki if you are not completely lost.

10 Likes

Welcome! Good work on already reaching chapter 10!

Don’t feel too bad about reviewing Japanese vocabulary. These don’t really stick right now since they have a completely different structure and sound compared to English. As you get further along WaniKani, you’ll naturally encounter more words and you’ll be able to remember other words easier by recognizing their kanji.

WaniKani also teaches you a fair amount of verbs (which are kinda important, just FYI), Nouns and adjectives that you use in exercises in the Genki textbook are usually limited to the vocab list of the specific chapter of that exercise, so you won’t really lose time looking them up.