Not doing well :(

I’m a beginner and now that I’ve unlocked some vocabulary, I’m doing poorly. :frowning:

Is it big? Or is it size? Considerable? Entrance, to enter, or insert? And why does the same kanji pronounce differently???

Is this just me, or does this happen to everyone?

I got the wind knocked out of me first time around.

You’ll get used to it.

Have you studied Japanese before now? This was my introduction to the language, so all the new words threw me off for a while.

2 Likes

Some, but not a lot. Spoken words and hiragana mostly

Same boat as me then brotherman.

Keep at it, eventually you’ll remeber the differences.

1 Like

This sort of confusion happens, yes. Don’t worry about it and just let WaniKani do its thing…

1 Like

I started with just some spoken and hiragana too, I got better once I just started to relax and trust the magic of spaced repetition and mnemonics.

3 Likes

There are probably reasons kanji pronounce differently as time and traditions have altered the language (kunyomi, onyomi, etc.). Just remember, just like they practice and practice it growing up, we learned English the hard way, too: over years. It’s how we got the point so we can say, “English is difficult. It can be understood through tough, thorough, thought, though.” So, expect years of practice :wink:

Also, it will be hard to learn if you aren’t continually using it in everyday life, or studying grammar. Ideally, you are studying verbs, conjugations, and usages with hiragana for a good time when kanji + furigana begin to seep its way into the sentences, starting with things like 私(わたし)so you can see both at the same time. It’s important if you want to learn the language, to not solely rely on kanji. Books and a native Japanese conversation partner will work wonders.

Good luck! And keep at it. 頑張って!

1 Like

Up until level 27 kicked my ass royally, level 2 was my slowest level. At first, you need to learn how to learn. Try to visualize better.