Native material recommendations?

Hey guys! This is my first time posting on the forums. I’ve been lurking for a little bit now.

(A little about me) I live In Oita prefecture and I teach English at a high school. Used to live in Fukui as an eikaiwa teacher. It’s my 3rd year in Japan and 4th year studying Japanese. I have finished Genki 1 and 2, and am currently on the last chapter of Tobira.

I just bought a Kindle for its awesome built in dictionary and note taking functions.
I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for books or magazines that are pretty digestible?
I have read a few manga series in Japanese like dragon ball and yotsuba without much trouble, but I’m not too strong with reading text only stories yet.

Thanks in advance!

-Gavin

5 Likes

To start with, you could probably check out some of the books from the book club threads, or peruse what’s available on floflo.moe.

4 Likes

If you want to try reading a novel, the beginner book club is doing 時をかける少女 soon. If that’s something you’d be interested in reading I’d highly recommend joining. Whenever you have a question you can ask and we’ll give you an answer asap. From the preview on ebookjapan it looks relatively easy for a novel, so as long as you’ve been keeping up with grammar I think you won’t have a difficult time keeping up.

5 Likes

Wow I had no idea the book club thread existed. Thanks! I’ll give it a look.

I don’t know how would you rate your known vocab, since kanji and grammar wise looks like you have it under control. Vocab will greatly determine how fluid your time reading actually is… 'cause of the time looking up words can pull you off the whole mindset of “reading japanese” when picking a book.