N1 questions

I am currently studying for the N1 exam and there is a text of the 2012 sample test that I have difficulties to understand completely. It begins with this sentence:

我が身が生涯に望み、知り得ることは、世界中を旅行しようと、何をしようと、小さい。

More or less I can imagine what it is about but not good enough to being able to translate it. There are some translations in the internet but I can’t understand how this part 我が身が生涯に望み and this part 知り得ることは this part are related to each other.

2 Likes

Don’t 望み (as in 望んで) and 知り得る both refer back to 我が身が生涯?

1 Like

我が身が I
生涯に望み、hope in my lifetime
知り得ることは、things that I can know
世界中を旅行しようと、even if I travel the world
何をしようと、or do anything
小さい。 are little

The things that I can hope to know during my life time, even if I travel the world or do anything, are limited.

Not totally sure but sounds about right. The comma is what bother me, 生涯に望み知り得る looks like one single nominal group attached to こと

8 Likes

Not sure if you’ve already seen this but there are some native explanations here.

1 Like

Thank you, I saw that. It doesn’t help me with analyzing the grammar of this sentence. It seems to me like a fragment.

Eg 小さい is talking about 知り得る事 no?
Small? Wouldn’t 少ない better explain that?

Where is this expressed in the sentence? For me it looks like there is no connection between the first two parts…

Or is it a fragmented writing style like:

The desire of my life, knowledge, neither travelling the world nor trying anything, is small.

I think it is because of the に right? What I expect from my life, not the expectation of my life maybe. 生涯に望みます=知り得ること。?

I think it’s a literary style thing. It’s not about the number of things I can know, more the scope of things that I can know.

That would be の望み, に should be understood like ‘in’ imo. Also, 望む is closer to ‘hope’ than ‘desire’. In fact, it can also means ‘prospects’: 将来よくなりそうな見込み。将来に寄せる期待。
So something more like ‘what can be expected from a lifetime’ I think.