Mnemonics for Verbs

I’m working my way through Level 1’s vocabulary so I’m new to verbs. I haven’t yet learned any of the grammar surrounding verbs as I’m just starting Genki alongside WaniKani.

I’ve noticed that the mnemonics WaniKani provides for the verb vocabulary words often are just for the reading of the kanji before the okurigana. For example, with 「入げる」the mnemonic given is an eagle 「い」flying out every time you insert your hand into something.

That mnemonic doesn’t help me remember that the kanji is followed by the okurigana 「げる」for the vocab tests, so I started making my own to incorporate the okurigana as well as the kanji.

The problem that I’m encountering now that I’m seeing the verbs in context sentences is that I’m not sure if this is actually a helpful way of learning these verbs or whether I should just stick to the mnemonics for the kanji and just remember the okurigana by rote memorisation, as I know that the verbs won’t be in the same format in different sentences depending on conjugation.

Uh, help?

Get a mnemonic whenever you need one. Test it in apprentice stages because guru and up level intervals are quite long compared to apprentice levels.

1 Like

Wanikani is rather one-directional. You learn to read japanese, not to translate from english to japanese (where you would need mnemonics for the verb complete with okurigana). In the direction japanese to english, you don’t need to memorize the okurigana as you are seeing it.

3 Likes

Aye, the thing about WaniKani is that it’s purely a kanji-learning system - vocabulary is included only as a means of helping you remember the kanji readings.

You’re free to come up with your own mnemonics. Sometimes your own mnemonic is the best mnemonic. Don’t be too discouraged by their usages in the example sentences - sometimes they can be a bit… over-casual with the translations of those.

What is 入げる?

It’s the reason we need okurigana mnemonics too, is what it is. :stuck_out_tongue: