Minna no nihongo: handwriting practice?

Hi! it’s been recommended to me by several people to go ahead and start studying basic grammar as early as possible. So I’ve signed up for bunpro and have been looking at physical textbooks. (I was hoping to put off buying a textbook until I graduated out of the WK freemium levels, but tis the season of steep discounts so I’m taking financial initiative…)

I’ve just about set my mind on Minna no Nihongo, but people seem to think it’s more useful for a self-learner if you also buy the workbook. I was hoping to get opinions on this from those who have used it and more importantly, opinions on how much you think being able to write Japanese would be necessary to complete the workbook.

The thing is, I don’t plan to learn to hand write any Japanese right now. I have a good reason! I’ve tried it before, and it didn’t go well for me. :pensive: I have crippling perfectionism issues, so I wound up writing pages of kana a hundred times over and feeling irritated with each repetition instead of actually learning anything. It was a big factor in why I never really got into kanji the first time around. It’s also a big factor in why I find Minna no Nihongo attractive, since I read that it doesn’t waste pages on stroke order.

So my question is: has anyone used MNN and if so, do you think it would be a good resource for someone looking to minimize writing practice and maximize grammar? Obviously some writing will be necessary, and I can produce embarrassing, crooked imitations of hiragana. But ideally I’m looking for a textbook where I’m not expected to learn to write very much, but the entire book isn’t in romaji.

Also I know this question is kind of subjective, so if anyone can think of any resources that would be good for avoiding writing while still getting the benefits of an organized lesson structure, I’m completely open to suggestions :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes