Minna no Nihongo みんなの日本語

Hey guys! This is my first post, so I hope I’m not doing anything wrong.

Does anyone here use みんなの日本語? I’m planning on getting the Beginner I for self-study. I like that the main book is all in Japanese because I learn better when immersed (as much as possible) in the language.

Do you think みんなの日本語 is a good series? Should I use it?

I was also wondering what the Beginner I book covers. I’m not a complete beginner, so I’m not sure if I should go for the first or second book in the series. Any general explanation as to what each book covers would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!

4 Likes

Welcome,

I definitely advice to read these 2 links :
http://rtkwiki.koohii.com/wiki/Comparison_of_Japanese_Textbooks_Table

https://community.wanikani.com/search?q=minna%20no%20nihongo

3 Likes

After completing the first beginner book, I felt very well prepared for JLPT N5. The books being all in kana and kanji really helped with test speed - I think I completed the first two sections in about half the allotted time.

Ultimately, I find it really difficult to stick with any text book. All are dry to the point of being tough to follow through with. I never did complete the second of the shoukyuu books - I did also pass N4 the following year, but it was much more challenging. I had two years gap and now I’m going to take N3 on Sunday. I’m not where I’d like to be to be honest and I really should probably pound through the second book even though it is technically below the JLPT level I’m at… it never hurts to solidify older material.

The books are very good for trying to build patterns, but one of the challenges with any resource I’ve encountered it the ability to retain those patterns.

Many will say the books are better for paired study, but I think they can be quite effective for self study. In short, I would recommend the first book, but I might be inclined to wait to order subsequent books and make sure it works for you.

4 Likes