Lifetime membership! Yikes! What to expect?

Hi,

I have recently just purchased a lifetime membership. Yay!!! I really like the app and I am pretty slow at levelling up - so I thought it was worth doing. Unless, of course, I give up…

I hopefully won’t. I started studying Japanese quite awhile before I found WaniKani and I have persevered through woeful study methods. I actually really enjoy the app, so things bode well. However, I’m a little bit concerned about any significant ramping up of the SRS. I heard it can get much more demanding as you get around lvl 16? I just manage to squeeze in my reviews and about 10 new lessons a day at the mo. Is it likely to get much more intense?

Also, this has probably be asked before, but I wondered what the average outcomes are of reaching lvl60?

Im not sure yet if Wanikani deals at all with particles and I perhaps find these the hardest thing about reading Japanese sentences. The basics are straightforward but the advanced uses, compounds and interactions with stems, adjectives and nouns can be overwhelming!

I am under no ilusions that I will be able to speak fluent Japanese after reaching lvl 60. Understanding the jist of written Japanese in English is the least I would hope for though. Being able to read written Japanese fairly fluently and with all its nuances would be ace!

読んでくれてありがとうございます

5 Likes

WaniKani will only teach you kanji and some vocabulary associated with the kanji you learned to help reinforce them, so you won’t see any particles here.

1 Like

To be fair, you will see particles, but only when they appear in expressions.

But yeah. Kanji website, not grammar.

6 Likes

YAGpXPd

12 Likes

What to expect?

It never ends!

1 Like

It will become more intense for two reasons:

• you will eventually get your enlightened items back for review, which adds about 10% more reviews per day.