Level 60...? Didn't think I'd make it this far

Here’s my obligatory “I hit level 60” post!

I have officially at least guru’ed all the Wanikani kanji and completed all available lessons. It’s a strange feeling; I’ve been doing Wanikani for 3 years now so I’ve gotten used to reviews and lessons being a part of my daily routine.

My plan from here on out:

I’m going to keep doing my reviews up until my sub expires at the end of November and then I’m logging off this site for good.

I’m going to continue studying Japanese, of course! My goal is 漢検 level 6 in February. Also, I’ll study by spending time with my true love: books. I have so many unread books on my shelf rn (and Book Off is dangerously close to my apartment), so I’m just going to throw myself into a bunch of stories and have a ball.

I’ll close out by leaving the things I’ve learned through my time on WK:

1. small, consistent efforts go a long, long way. I spent maybe 30-60min a day on weekdays on WK, sometimes even less. But by doing that little bit almost every day for 3 years, I can now read books in Japanese almost at the same pace I can read them in English (skipping over words I don’t know that aren’t integral, though). How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time!

2. SRS is the bomb. I never got into Anki, so WK was my first real encounter with SRS learning. Gotta say, 10/10.

3. Read as much as possible. Manga, books, subtitles on anime, song lyrics, anything. Seeing the kanji/vocab in the wild - and more importantly, in context - really cements it’s meaning and usage.

4. Goals sustain motivation. I’ve found when I “do something just to have done it” my motivation starts strong and then quickly fizzles out into nothingness and the project either becomes a dreaded chore or I give up entirely. Giving myself a “why” - for me it was being able to read more books (have I mentioned I love books…?) - kept me on track and got me more excited to see my progress.