Let's Play: Bravely Default II Demo

The Bravely Default II Demo is out on Nintendo Switch, and I figured this would be a good chance to do a play through and learn some Japanese. I will be updating the main post as I go along and reserving the first couple of replies. I’ve never tried this format here before so let’s see how it goes.

Note: The screenshots are at home on my Switch, so I’ll be uploading those later on. For now, I’ve been watching let’s plays to get the text so I’ll change the placeholders once I do that.

About the game

Bravely Default II was developed by Silicon Studio and published by Square Enix and Nintendo. It’s an old school JRPG with a unique battle mechanic and an interesting story. I’ll go over the battle stuff when we get there, but it’s got a great pedigree and should be a good game overall.

How the Let's Play is going to work

This is basically going to be shown via screenshots of the game as we go through. I’ll write some commentary for each and go over the translations.

Japanese Translation

I’ll be providing the original game text and then my own translation as far as I can manage. The English will be in spoiler tags as will the furigana. I was going to provide a summary of the original localization, but I think it just makes everything look a bit too messy. I can probably provide these later if anyone is really interested.

I’m going to do my best with the translation without using anything other than Jisho and maybe DeepL, so feel free to comment and correct anything you see that’s wrong or just off.

Spoiler Rules
It’s a new game and the demo story is an offshoot of the main game, so I don’t think we need to worry too much about spoilers.

Anyway, here goes.

5 Likes

The start screen has the following simple text:
新しく物語を始めます

Start a new story

Once you choose to begin a game, a splash screen shows up with a message from the developers:

ダウンロードいただき、ありがとうございます!

Thanks for downloading!

この先行体験版は、ブレイブリーデフォルト II の基本形を