Learning Kanji-readings before respective vocabulary being kinda redundant? (Sry for the wall of text)

Hey I’d have a question please which I’ve found one topic on already but I try to extend that thought with a kind of a text wall (sry for that).

I just started Wanikani a few days ago and study Japanese in general for a few weeks now, so I’m a beginner merely knowing kana and some very basic Kanji.

While I like the mnemonic concept of WK since their stories are really cool and actually helpful imo, I found myself seeing few to zero sense in getting forced to learn a (or better “any”) respective reading(s) on how the Kanji could be pronounced (or as WK stated is rather “the most common” way); what is the actual sense in that? I mean I’m getting taught 1 or even more readings of a Kanji, for example 大 is being taught as たい and だい - yeah great, but that doesn’t help me in the slightest when a Japanese says “ŌkĪ Inu (大きい犬)/ big dog” since たい and だい are both On’yomi-readings, while おお being Kun’yomi. Another example with “big”, this time without hiragana so one might think now it’s pure On’yomi-reading time, is “大人 / adult”, which is pronounced おとな more commonly instead of だいにん, so when I’d talk to a Japanese and saying “だいにん” they might propably understand what I’m referring to but when they talk “おとな” to me I’m left in the dark despite I know “the most common” way of reading 大 and 人.