Japanese Science Fiction Novels?

I am still a beginner but I wanted to find a list of Japanese authors that write science fiction novels so that when I am starting to really read Japanese, I know who to look for and keep an eye on at the local BOOK OFFs.

I love reading manga but I am not a big fan of the light novels. I am looking for something with a bit more substance. I have searched but I am not really finding anything other than light novels. Amazon Japan has not been much help, either.

Is there a Japanese equivalent to Heinlein or Asimov?

Thank you.

Murakami Haruki (村上 春樹)

Or you can flip through the winners of a Japanese sci-fi author’s award, like the Seiun Awarn (essentially the Japanese equivalent of the Hugo Award).

Doh! Thanks! I should have thought of something like that.

He wrote sf?? I was not aware of that. Do you remember the title?

Not hard SF, to be sure, but SF nonetheless. SF in the sense that 1984 is SF (no particular reference to 1Q84 intended :stuck_out_tongue: )

Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World, for example. Or… 1Q84.

I like 星新一. He’s famous for his SF short-shorts (stories that are a few pages long). Also 筒井康隆, who wrote the novels that got adapted into Paprika and The Girl Who Lept Through Time.

Well, I can see how 1984 would be sf (it is sf, after all), but 1Q84 is definitely not sf for me. There’s no speculative science involved. In France, 1Q84 is categorized as “fantastique” (supernatural, I guess :thinking:) I really like that type of literature, but I don’t think it fits what the OP was about. (Or maybe it does, and it’s just a categorization problem)

Speaking of which, I’ll check the other one out :slight_smile:

Yeah, he’s not really Heinlein or Asimov, and the line between sci-fi and fantasy can be extremely thin, but still…