Is there any way to force burns?

There’s a whole bunch of items I really, really do not need to still be reviewing, but I am a lousy student, and can’t focus to save my life so I end up answering them wrong from time to time during reviews. I’ve known numbers / months / days for almost a decade at this point. It is a waste of my time reviewing that stuff, but I can’t get it to the level I need. It’s frustrating, becuase there’s still so so much I actually don’t know and I’m wasting my time with January, and muika, and…

actually, another question. how am I supposed to know WHICH pronunciation it wants for words with multiple? Sometimes I’ll see moon, which I’ve known to be pronounced gatsu, getsu, and tsuki for, again, almost a decade, but I’ll give it the wrong one and bam, i’m knocked down a level. It’s very discouraging. Thanks.

When the background is purple, it’s looking for the vocabulary reading. When it’s pink it’s looking for the reading that you learned with the kanji.

When used on its own, 月 is a word that is read as つき. As a standalone kanji, Wanikani accepts either がつ or げつ. When used in a compound word, whether it’s がつ or げつ depends on which word it is in.

It’s important to know when you’re reviewing vocabulary and when you’re reviewing the kanji on its own. During a kanji review (and only during a kanji review), WaniKani will forgive you if you put the vocabulary reading and it will ask you again.

5 Likes

Vocabulary doesn’t impact your level at all. I guess having lots of them in apprentice could make it annoying to do reviews though.

4 Likes

You can use the WaniKani Double-Check Userscript to override wrong answers. Be careful not to abuse it though. For most people, being unable to get an item right consistently due to “accidental mistakes” often means they don’t know it as well as they think they do. (Not saying this is necessarily true for you, but something to keep in mind…)