Is it strange to enunciate in Japanese?

This is my first time learning another language and I quickly noticed that there were a lot of what appeared to be silent vowels, for example the i in Shi, the u in Su.

After awhile I realized these were not silent, just not enunciated. In the same way the English is often spoken.

With English though, a very good English speaker will enunciate everything and it doesn’t sound strange in any way, it just sounds like they are more experienced with speech.

I can’t tell if it is the same with native Japanese, for example if I always enunciated the word DeSu and never dropped the u, would that just come across strange or do good speakers do this?

1 Like

Here’s a pretty good explanation of the general rules for the unvoiced I and U vowels:

As far as the pronunciation of です goes, the u is often devoiced and pronounced as “dess” when it’s at the end of a sentence, but sometimes speakers will pronounce the final u – it can come off as a sign of emphasis and change the nuance in how the sentence is being received, and if anything it can add some personality/flair into what the speaker is saying ^^

Same goes for -ます in verbs, the u at the end is sometimes enunciated to make it come off stronger

2 Likes

I’m kinda having a hard time imagining your “all enunciated” English and how it would differ from English. Assuming it still sounds normal.

4 Likes

I’ve learned with Japanese, due to the two languages being completely different it’s not always a good idea to try and parallel them. Some things like full enunciation just don’t work in Japanese like in English, just the same there are a lot of things that don’t work in English that work in Japanese.

English does a similar thing: