Is it possible to not do radicals?

I was thinking of coming back to WaniKani as I have a lifetime subscription so I reset my account.

But since I stopped I’ve gone and learned about the radicals separately and I don’t want to learn the Wanikani versions of them.

Can I somehow do WaniKani without the radicals or is it possible to do Wanikani learning the actual radicals instead of the special wanikani radicals?

1 Like

You can add a synonym like “a” for all the radicals to not have to learn them. Though all the vocab and kanji mnemonics are based on the radicals from Wanikani so they would be useless for you as well.
Skipping the radicals is not possible in any way AFAIK.

6 Likes

You can add synonym to match the version you have learn.

10 Likes

That’s a good point, it would probably be better on finding other ways to learn the kanji and vocab

2 Likes

You could potentially make your own mnemonics for each kanji based on the radicals you learned, basically at this point, the SRS, vocab, and some radicals that are in line with what you learned and their own associated kanji is what you’d gain from continuing WK.

Is that possible to have “a” for all of them? That is great news as I don’t need to learn radicals or kanji but I just need the vocabulary. I think I added a synonym to a kanji but it wasn’t accepted one. Actually to me learning a single kanji is not an efficient way to learn as it is more difficult to learn one single word than as in vocabulary you can actually use and put more meaning to and it’s impossible to know whether it is asking for on’yomi or kun’yomi so it’s absolutely wasting my time to have so many reviews that I just look up the answers. Thanks for the suggestion.

You could theoretically use the API to loop through all radicals or even all kanji & add the synonym “a” to all. Whether you should do that is a whole other matter…

1 Like

If you don’t need to learn radicals or kanji, WK is probably not the appropriate tool for you.

3 Likes