Is it common to have inconsistent review memory?

I feel like quite often, I really struggle with recalling the correct reading. But then sometimes I just ace my reviews 100% with ease.

Does anyone else have this kind of inconsistency or know what could be causing it?

Is it just because I’m relatively new to using WaniKani? I’ve been taking my sweet time and not rushing through the process so I don’t feel like I’m overloading myself.

6 Likes

usually I do bad on my first round, and then my recall starts to kick in. Don’t beat yourself up, keep at it!

It’s actually more like getting “mastered” stuff wrong. Somehow I get that far in with kanji and mind blank.

I don’t tend to get enlightened wrong thankfully. Although I managed to mess up a radical that had been enlightened for ages the other day.

1 Like

What an early time to get lifetime membership.
Anyways circumstances are different *most of the time.So its completely fine to be having such irregular patterns.Just don’t stress out too much, besides thats what wanikani is used for :grinning:
*edited for wrong word

Not so early. I’ve been using wanikani for almost a year but I reset my progress. I’m just learning casually so that I can become passible in the language sometime in the next 20 years. Too busy with 50 hour work weeks to rush through learning a language. So naturally, I don’t want to have to be rushed by a subscription. For me it was the obvious choice.

1 Like

I have this too but most of the time it’s down to how tired I am. Once I get past a certain point energy wise my ability to remember readings or meanings of some jukugo words falls away.

3 Likes

My memory is astonishingly inconsistent. I struggle to go from guru → master; a TON of stuff gets re-circulated for me. I have no idea how normal that is, but I try not to worry about it?

3 Likes

It’s really good to know that I’m not the only one. I guess the only thing we can do is carry on.

1 Like