Intensive Study in Japan

Hey gang, lately I’ve been considering going back to Japan (I worked there for three years previously) to take an intensive study course for a year or six months (depending on what I can afford). Does anybody have any experience with this? Can you recommend any schools apart from the ones listed over at gaijinpot? I passed the N3 this year so I’m not tooooootally unschooled. Ideally I’d like to be able to live and work in Japan permanently, but I’m worried that even if I really hit the books and “get gud” after a year of full-time study I might not be able to find meaningful work. It’s a big investment and a big risk, y’know?Is being bilingual enough to get a job at a good company? I have a BA but it’s in Audio Engineering, so it’s tough to find work with that even in a country that speaks English. Anyway, I’d appreciate and thoughts, insight, or warnings on the subject. Help me sort my life out!

5 Likes

I’m interested in a similar future for myself, so I’m curious too.

Audio Engineering, like producing sounds on a computer? You could try to go for a gaming company.
This year, I get my BA in English Literature, which I have no idea if it’s gonna be of any use in Japan. I guess I could be a teacher? monkaS

I studied mostly working in a recording studio and a bit of post-production for TV/film, but these days I work in live sound: Music concerts, corporate events, that kind of thing. Only this year I started looking in to audio for gaming (it’s really quite different to audio for TV/film), which is a lot of fun, but it tends to be one of those industries where everybody wants 5+ years of experience before you get hired, and even then full-time positions are rare. They usually choose a new sound guy for each new project.