I'm studying or cheating?

I’m using a third-party app that allow to search/browse the items with certain conditions (level, learning step, next review time, etc).
Something that I do sometimes, when i clear my reviews, is to check/browse the elements that has a review for the next day.

But i suppose that this breaks the whole SRS purpose, because even if i quiz myself (i cover part of the screen with the solution, and then i check if i was correct) when i have the real quiz i have the elements fresh in my mind.

Should I stop checking kanji beforehand and only do the reviews as scheduled?

1 Like

You are only putting extra reps in. SRS timings are designed, so you do the least number of reviews necessary.
Obligatory graph:

If you bascially do more sessions than necessary, you are only increasing the time your retain the information (though only slightly)

7 Likes

Surely you’re not merely doing extra reps, because the external quizzing does not update the time-to-next-repeat if you get it wrong? So then when you do your “real” review the SRS thinks “oh, you can remember this after 6 weeks” but it’s actually only “you can remember it after 2 days”…

6 Likes

That depends on how they deal with incorrect guesses. If all they do is go “oh, got it wrong, doesn’t matter, I’ll get it next time”, sure, then it’s not very beneficial. But there are methods for solving this kinda issue.

1 Like

Like what? I’m struggling to see how you can make up for the fact the SRS is missing important information when you review items outside it. For the case of reviewing items you just got wrong in the SRS today, the extra information the SRS is missing is minor (and it’s probably a good idea to effectively restudy the item a bit). But for the case of reviewing items you know are going to come up tomorrow, that is the worst possible case of the SRS system missing information about your actual recall abilities, and it really doesn’t seem like a good idea as a general practice.