I'm going to start using WaniKani again. I'm Level 6. My reviews swelled to 599 reviews. How do I clear my reviews?

I started learning Japanese again. I recently finished my college education so I’m able to make time again to get fluent.

My biggest priority is grammar, so I’m using apps like Bunpro and have 3/10 of the N5 lessons studied. I’m going at a very slow pace, so it will be awhile until I learn all of the N5 grammar (I’m okay with this. The work flow I’m following for grammar is much better that I’m able to understand the grammar and how to use it). That said, I want to learn more vocabulary and kanji again after checking out a book called “マイマイとナイナイ”.

599 reviews is a lot though. I made some flash cards of WaniKani’s first 10 levels, but separated the meanings and readings into their own decks, rather than have them all in one deck. This will be a lot of cards to go through, so when clearing my reviews, how many of the reviews should I do per day until I clear my reviews and which levels should I focus on first? I don’t know if I’m asking the right questions, but at this point I don’t want to do a reset.

3 Likes

Just do as many reviews as you are comfortable with each day.
doing more than that will just make it feel like a chore and will slow you down in the long run.

To control the number of reviews you get you can slow down on doing new lessons, say 5 per day at max, that should help keep the number of new reviews down.

also you might find the “wrap up” button in lessons helpful, it is the litle clock on the left, it will wrap up your reviews session by bringing in cards for items you have already partly done during your session.

4 Likes

Just chip away at the reviews really at a pace that you’re comfortable with. I’ve charged through 500 reviews in a day before (and others have done somewhat more than that) but the problem is that you get reviews coming back at you in big blocks afterwards if you do.