I will never be the same anymore

After just one week, I feel totally normal to think “so there’s a narwhal who’s doing construction, with his left hand… he does it with a saw ! the reading is sa”

47 Likes

what’s even scarier is when the mnemonic falls away with time (as it should) and you can’t even remember how you learned the kanji in the first place and it just looks like “left,” no narwhals to be found anywhere.

24 Likes

Well I guess you could say…

There are no narwhals left

38 Likes

Yes, I love that mnemonic. I imagine the narwhal sawing out a big chunk out to have space to live in.

Those darn Youths must have taken them all to the dark right side…

6 Likes

I totally agree! I’m new to this as well, and while I was at first a bit put off, I now actively try to remember how a big man named Jourm lost his big toe : D

6 Likes

Don’t worry, if you stick around long enough you’ll see something like Crabigator and immediately associate it with kanji, without even thinking about how you ended up associating alligator-crabs with a Japanese script.

5 Likes

A mnemonic involving ms. chou leads to yelling “that bitch!”

6 Likes

It is wild! Sometimes I do not even remember the mnemonic one or two reviews in. It is still fun to come up with new stories though!

1 Like

On days when my reviews aren’t going great I sometimes think “man, I suck at reading kanji, well, except the obvious ones like warn and cold and nose, but everyone knows those” and then I realize I’m looking at some random strokes and the words just pop into my head.

9 Likes

be careful, it’s highly contagious: all my family members know many mnemonics and occasionally shout out meanings before i can type them in!

5 Likes

That has begun happening with me when it comes to hiragana and katakana.

2 Likes

All of this sounds so cool I’m eager to learn more !