I have been learning Japanese for over a year and

Hi, I am a high school student who has been learning Japanese through classes, wanikani, and attempts and textbooks. I am not getting very. The only reason I have been able to learn more was because of deciding to start studying on my own, which I have started doing in quarantine. I have a slight problem though, I don’t know what I should learn first. There are verbs, kanji, vocabulary, grammar structures, adjectives, endings, counters, etc…Where do I start. What should I work on first, because I have been bouncing around a bit? Like, only through learning by myself have I learned that verbs have more than 2 conjugations, or that adjectives conjugate, or how deep formality goes with the language. I could, of course, look up the answer online, but it may be better to get advice from different people. Do you mind helping me out?

3 Likes

Since you mentioned you have a textbook, I’d recommend following that to the end. Actively do all the exercises, including speaking, even if that means speaking to yourself. After you get through the series of your textbook of choice (e.g. Genki I and II), then you can think about what you’re lacking and put a bigger emphasis on that, whether that’s kanji, grammar, listening, etc.

That doesn’t mean you should stop using WaniKani or whatever other resource in the meantime, but a textbook will give you a structured lesson plan to follow when there is an otherwise chaotic amount of information out there.

12 Likes