I don't think they should be called "radicals"

I don’t think you should call them radicals. Might I suggest “eggs”.

Here’s the reason: The word “radical” is already used in Japanese, and it refers to a specific set of components, I think something like seventy of them. They have specific names too. I know you guys are native speakers, and know this, but for us JSL folks, it can get a bit confusing. Especially if people come on already knowing something about Japanese.

Perhaps it’s too baked in now, but it’s a serious bit of feedback, anyway.

22 Likes

I would lean toward something like “components” or “parts”, but it’s undeniable that many beginners end up getting confused by the usage of “radicals” in some way.

17 Likes

People would go, “Why aren’t they called radicals if they’re similar to the ones in the official list?”

3 Likes

Complete beginners don’t even know about that list.

And it would only get brought in conversations about dictionaries or Kanken.

Unlike now where we get a few threads a month about the “fake radicals.”

17 Likes

I also tend to think of them as “parts”, though “components” might work better in a system like this since it might be less confusing.

But…

This is unfortunately most likely the case.

18 Likes

What happened to your account? :eyes:

7 Likes

I was suggesting “eggs” simply because it fits with their turtle theme (and they could call starting a new component “cracking an egg”), but honestly, I’m good with whatever. I just don’t think “radicals” specifically is helpful.

5 Likes

I agree. It would probably reduce the amount of posts addressing radicals significantly. But it’s likely that any moves to change that convention might prove to be problematic because any minor changes tend to always cause a negative reaction among users on the forum.

5 Likes